Monday, November 23, 2015


New York-based Americana group, Steamboats, announce their debut LP, Chosen Peace, with the release of their title track. The album was mastered by Grammy® Award-winning engineer, Adam Ayan, and recorded by Grammy® Award-winning producer, Will Russell at Electric Wilburland Studio.

Steamboats is made up of long-time friends, Nick Throop, Mario Rincon and Jon Jaffee. They formed in the late Fall of 2011 when the three got together in Bed-Stuy and began singing traditional bluegrass and folk songs, as well as slowly developing original material written by Throop and Rincon. Shortly after, in the Summer of 2012, the group added Patrick Murphy, completing the instrumental ensemble of Steamboats. In the Summer of 2014, Steamboats released their four-song, self-titled EP.

Their debut EP is a sample of their original work and features accordionist Kate Dunphy (Carte Blanche) and drummer Jon Shiffman (Bleachers). Ear To The Ground raves, “The compositions are great, the vocals are exceptional, and they just frankly ought to have more attention.” The band’s full-length album, Chosen Peace, is scheduled for release in January of 2016.

The title track premiered on Relix Magazine this past September during a live in-studio session. Relix says, “Brooklyn's Steamboats are as well known for their soaring vocal harmonies as their vibrant picking.” Stay tuned for more from the band and their debut album.

No comments:

Post a Comment

That Nashville Sound

Americana UK


The Boot


Folklife Today

American Songwriter

Consequence of Sound

NPR Topics: Music Videos

Collectible Vinyl Records for Sale

This Week's Find

Americana Yesterday

The Hey Joe Blog